Indigenous Business
Award 2011


Elevate excellence and inspire change by supporting BC Achievement’s programs through a tax-deductible gift today.


Join our ELEVATE e-newsletter community for program, event and spotlight series opportunities.

2011 BC Aboriginal Business Awards

The third annual British Columbia Aboriginal Business Awards were announced by the Hon. Mary Polak, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation and Keith Mitchell, chair of the BC Achievement Foundation. The honourees were celebrated at a gala ceremony on December 1, 2011 at the Hyatt Regency in Vancouver.

“I’d like to thank the jury for their dedicated work in choosing such worthy recipients of this year’s awards,” said Polak. “Aboriginal business plays a vital role in generating on-the-ground jobs within communities across the province. I know that the people we honour this year will inspire budding entrepreneurs to follow their own dreams and build on the contribution of Aboriginal business to the B.C. economy.”

“From trades, construction and development to retail, lodging, restaurants and catering, the BC Aboriginal Business Awards showcase the Aboriginal business community and its accomplishments,” added Mitchell. “On behalf of the BC Achievement Foundation, I would like to extend my congratulations to these deserving enterprises.

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards were launched in 2008 to honour and celebrate business excellence. Seven award recipients, one from each category, have been selected. In addition, a further group of eleven Aboriginal businesses are noted for their outstanding achievement.

Members of the jury panel include Chief Harold Leighton of Metlakatla First Nation in Prince Rupert and CEO of Metlakatla Development Corporation, a past recipient; Tim Low, entrepreneur, former economic development officer and currently director of Citizen Services, Service Canada in Vancouver; and Janice Rose, Vice-Chair, Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada and Principal Consultant of JM Rose & Associates in Ladysmith. The jury panel evaluated submissions based on the entrants’ viability, sustainability and competitiveness.

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards are presented by the BC Achievement Foundation in partnership with the Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, and generously supported by New Relationship Trust, BC Hydro, Teck, Encana and Spectra Energy.

2011 Indigenous Business Award

2011 Presentation Ceremony