Find out how you can support this program and learn more about awardees in your community. Register now to receive our monthly e-newsletter.

First Nations Artists Receive Creative Achievement Awards

The six recipients of the third annual BC Creative Achievement Awards for Aboriginal Art were honoured by Premier Gordon Campbell and Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation.

“Through their carving, painting, jewelry and weaving, these artists have made an important contribution to a tradition of cultural diversity and richness that stretches back through the centuries,” said Premier Campbell, who is director of the BC Achievement Foundation. “It is a tribute to the incredible cultural heritage of B.C.’s First Nations and an extraordinary legacy that all British Columbians can take pride in.”

Mitchell introduced the awards and explained, “The BC Creative Achievement Awards are the most prestigious awards for Aboriginal Art in British Columbia. Since 2007, the awards have tracked the careers of outstanding practitioners in Aboriginal art while reflecting the healthy and vibrant diversity of Aboriginal culture throughout the province.”

The BC Creative Achievement Awards for Aboriginal Art are sponsored by Polygon Homes Ltd. and the Vancouver Airport Authority. Michael Audain, Chairman of Polygon Homes Ltd. expressed Polygon’s commitment to sponsoring these awards acknowledging the importance and the role of First Nations’ artists of British Columbia. “Polygon is honoured to have prominent First Nations’ artwork within our developments throughout Metro Vancouver ,” said Audain.

Earl Muldon, a Gitxsan artist from Hazelton, was named the recipient of the 2009 BC Lifetime Creative Achievement Award for Aboriginal Art. This award recognizes First Nations artists whose dedication to their work has had a profound impact on both their community and First Nations culture. Earl Muldon’s extensive collection captures his respect of tradition along with his creative spiritual and artistic dimensions.

The five recipients of the juried competition, the BC Creative Achievement Awards for Aboriginal Art, were:

  • Calvin Hunt, Kwakiutl (Port Hardy)
  • Richard Hunt, Kwakiutl (Victoria)
  • Noeleen McQuary, Carrier Nadleh Whut’en (Vanderhoof)
  • John Marston, Chemainus (Ladysmith)
  • Isabel Rorick, Haida (Hornby Island)

Each receives a $2,500 prize and is granted the use of the British Columbia Creative Achievement Award seal to signify their creative excellence.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the Province of B.C. in 2003 to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, community service and enterprise.

2009 Presentation Ceremony