Find out how you can support this program and learn more about awardees in your community. Register now to receive our monthly e-newsletter.

Honouring excellence and inspiring achievement in community service and leadership

Premier John Horgan and Anne Giardini, Chair of the BC Achievement Foundation, named the recipients of the 19th annual Community Award recognizing twenty extraordinary British Columbians who build better, stronger and more resilient communities. The Community Award recipients were selected by an independent committee, whose 2022 members included Mayor Maja Tait of Sooke, Mayor Clara Reinhardt of Radium Hot Springs, and past recipients Aisha Amijee and Kal Dosanjh.

The Mitchell Award designate of the Community Award is selected by the BC Achievement Foundation Board in consultation with the local community. The award recognizes an individual who, through their work and volunteer activities, demonstrates an unwavering commitment to elevating people around them. The 2022 Mitchell Award of Distinction recipient was presented to Dr. Faisal Khosa, a mentor, educator and advocate for equity, diversity and inclusion, whose selfless leadership style empowers others to lead and excel.

The 2022 Community Award recipients were recognized in a formal presentation ceremony held in Victoria, BC in the presence of the Honourable Janet Austin, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia. They were also celebrated through an online campaign #shinethelightbc to commemorate their excellence and inspirational achievements positively impacting British Columbians.

Read the full press release here.

This year’s Community Award recipients have supported their communities during exceptionally difficult times and are an inspiration to us all. They have dedicated their time and energy to helping their friends and neighbours, and British Columbia is a better province because of them.

Photo Gallery - 2022 Community Award Presentation Ceremony