Elevate excellence and inspire change by supporting BC Achievement’s programs through a tax-deductible gift today.


Join our ELEVATE e-newsletter community for program, event and spotlight series opportunities.

2019 BC Community Achievers Celebrated

Twenty-four British Columbians were honoured at the sixteenth annual BC Achievement Community Award presentation ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

The Honourable Janet Austin, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia along with BC Achievement Foundation Board members, Robert Louie, OC and Christopher Gaze, OBC presented each recipient with a BC Achievement Community Award certificate, medallion and citation.

The BC Achievement Foundation Board of Directors’ presented the Mitchell Award at the 2019 ceremony. Named in honour of Keith Mitchell, QC, past Chair of the Foundation and its guiding light for over 13 years, the award recognizes leadership that empowers others to engage. The 2019 Mitchell Award was presented to Ellen Woodsworth.

An independent committee selects the recipients of the BC Achievement Community Award. The 2019 selection committee members are Mayor Lyn Hall of Prince George, Mayor Josie Osborne of Tofino and past recipients, Garry F. Benson, QC of Kelowna, Lolly Bennett of Vancouver and Kamal Dhillon of Surrey.

2019 Community Award

2019 Mitchell Award:

  • Ellen Woodsworth
    Ellen Woodsworth »

    "Ellen Woodsworth’s many achievements reflect her decades-long dedication to public service and advocacy of women's issues, peace, poverty reduction, seniors and LGBTQI2S rights. Founder of Women Transforming Cities International Society and a two-term Vancouver city councillor, Ellen has served on…