Community Award 2018


Elevate excellence and inspire change by supporting BC Achievement’s programs through a tax-deductible gift today.


Join our ELEVATE e-newsletter community for program, event and spotlight series opportunities.

2018 BC Community Achievers Honoured

Twenty-nine British Columbians were honoured at the fifteenth annual British Columbia Community Achievement Awards’ presentation ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

The Honourable Janet Austin, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia along with BC Achievement Foundation Board members, Robert Louie, OC and Christopher Gaze, OBC presented each recipient with a BC Community Achievement Award certificate, medallion and citation. Scott McIntyre, CM, Foundation Chair, hosted the presentation ceremony.

The BC Achievement Foundation Board of Directors’ presented the Mitchell Award at the 2018 ceremony. Named in honour of Keith Mitchell, QC, past Chair of the Foundation and its guiding light for over 13 years, the award recognizes leadership that empowers others to engage. The 2018 Mitchell Award was presented to Kim van der Woerd.

An independent committee selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. The 2018 selection committee members are Mayor Lyn Hall of Prince George, Mayor Josie Osborne of Tofino and past recipients, Garry F. Benson, QC of Kelowna, Karen Gilmore of Vancouver and David Young of Vancouver.

The recipients of the 2018 awards will be recognized in a formal presentation ceremony at Government House in Victoria on April 25, 2018. Each recipient will receive a certificate, and a medallion designed by BC artist Robert Davidson, OC.

2018 Community Award

2018 Mitchell Award:

  • Kim van der Woerd
    Kim van der Woerd »
    West Vancouver

    Kim van der Woerd is a member of the ‘Namgis First Nation and demonstrates exceptional leadership both professionally and personally. As a Board member of the YWCA Metro Vancouver and more recently, the YWCA Canada, she inspired a commitment to…

2018 Awardees: