Community Award 2016

Find out how you can support this program and learn more about awardees in your community. Register now to receive our monthly e-newsletter.

2016 BC Community Achievers Honoured

Thirty-two British Columbians were honoured at the thirteenth annual British Columbia Community Achievement Awards ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

Honourable Judith Guichon, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia and Honourable Peter Fassbender, Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development presented each recipient with a BC Community Achievement Award medallion and certificate. Keith Mitchell, QC represented the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, the award’s presenting organization.

“Each one of the award recipients honoured today has made a lasting contribution to their communities and represents the best of British Columbia,” said Minister Fassbender. “Their example teaches us what can be accomplished if we work together and their contributions and leadership inspire us all. It is a privilege to recognize their achievements.”

“Today’s honourees demonstrate that British Columbians are making a difference in every corner of our province,” said Mr. Mitchell. “They exemplify what it is to go above and beyond; to do what needs to be done and to give without question their time and energy for the betterment of their communities.”

An independent committee selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. The 2016 selection committee members are Mayor Henry Braun of the City of Abbotsford, Mayor Carol Leclerc of the City of Terrace and past recipients, Victoria Dobbyn of Roberts Creek, Daphne Goode of Victoria and Christopher Seguin of Kamloops.

The recipients of the 2016 awards will be recognized in a formal presentation ceremony at Government House in Victoria on May 25, 2016. Each recipient will receive a certificate and a medallion designed by B.C. artist Robert Davidson.