Community Award 2013

Find out how you can support this program and learn more about awardees in your community. Register now to receive our monthly e-newsletter.

2013 BC Community Achievers Honoured

Thirty-two British Columbians were honoured at the tenth annual British Columbia Community Achievement Awards’ ceremony held at Government House in Victoria on March 14.

The Honourable Judith Guichon, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia and Honourable Ida Chong, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation presented each recipient with a BC Community Achievement Award medallion and certificate. Chair Keith Mitchell, QC represented the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, the award’s presenting organization.

“They are citizens from all over the province whose contributions, leadership and inspiration have helped to make their British Columbia communities more caring, dynamic, beautiful, healthy and unique, said Minister Chong, also a board member of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation. “What they all have in common is a passion for the people and places where they live and a strong commitment to making a difference.”

“Today’s honourees give the most valuable of life’s commodities, time and energy,” said Keith Mitchell. “They do whatever needs to get done – from sitting on boards and committees to far exceeding their job descriptions to sharing their talents of organizing, fundraising, preserving a community’s heritage or teaching environmental awareness.”

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. This year’s council members are Mayor Mike Clay of Port Moody, Mayor Shari Green of Prince George, and past recipients Don Montgomery of Richmond (2009), Joyce Carlson of Powell River (2009) and Jane Frost of Vancouver (2006).

The recipients of the 2013 British Columbia Community Achievement Awards will be recognized in a formal presentation at Government House in Victoria on March 14, 2013. Each will receive a certificate and a medallion designed by B.C. artist Robert Davidson.

The British Columbia Community Achievement Awards are generously sponsored by Postmedia Network, publishers of The Vancouver Sun and The Province.