Community Award 2012

Find out how you can support this program and learn more about awardees in your community. Register now to receive our monthly e-newsletter.

2012 BC Community Achievers Honoured

Thirty-six British Columbians were honoured today at the ninth annual BC Community Achievement Awards ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

Lieutenant Governor Steven Point and Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development Ida Chong presented each recipient with a BC Community Achievement Award medallion and certificate.

“Strong communities start with people like those we are honouring here today – individuals who demonstrate excellence by going above and beyond to change the lives of others and make BC a better place for families,” said Minister Chong. “These individuals exemplify inspired leadership and stand as an example to others of what it means to be passionate, dedicated and community-oriented. It is an honour for me to recognize their achievements.”

“Today’s honourees give the most valuable of life’s commodities, time and energy,” said Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation. “All have demonstrated a commitment to making a real difference in so many areas from education to sport to youth and seniors leadership.”

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. This year’s council members are Mayor Larry Cross of Sidney, Mayor Mary Sjostrom of Quesnel, and past recipients Jane Frost of Vancouver (2006), Marlene Grinnell of Langley (2006), and Patrick Kelly of Victoria (2009).

The British Columbia Community Achievement Awards are generously sponsored by Postmedia Network, whose presence in BC includes daily newspapers, The Vancouver Sun, The Province, and The National Post.