Community Award 2009

Find out how you can support this program and learn more about awardees in your community. Register now to receive our monthly e-newsletter.

Premier Honours Outstanding British Columbians

Thirty-nine British Columbians representing 27 communities throughout the province were honoured at the sixth-annual BC Community Achievement Awards ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

Lieutenant Governor Steven Point and Premier Gordon Campbell presented each recipient with a medallion on behalf of the BC Achievement Foundation.

“Each one of these award winners has made a lasting contribution to help all British Columbians by building stronger neighbourhoods, stronger communities and a stronger province,” said Premier Gordon Campbell. “Their example teaches us what we can accomplish when we work together and give of our time and energy to support one another.”

“It is a privilege to showcase and honour the contributions each of these recipients has made,” said British Columbia Achievement Foundation chair Keith Mitchell. “The diversity of this year’s recipients demonstrates that there are people contributing to building our province in every corner of B.C.”

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. The 2009 advisory council members are Mayor Gerry Furney, Township of Port McNeill; Mayor Mary Sjostrom, City of Quesnel; George Puil of Vancouver (2008 recipient); Sharon Smith of Houston and Grace Wong of Vancouver (2006 Recipient).

The recipients of the 2009 British Columbia Community Achievement Awards were recognized in a formal presentation at Government House in Victoria on March 10, 2009. Each individual receive a certificate and a medallion designed by BC artist Robert Davidson.

The British Columbia Community Achievement Awards are generously sponsored by Canwest, Canada’s leading international media company, whose presence in BC includes daily and community newspapers, online media and television stations.