Community Award 2006

Find out how you can support this program and learn more about awardees in your community. Register now to receive our monthly e-newsletter.

Achievement Awards recognize 44 British Columbians

The recipients of the 2006 British Columbia Community Achievement Awards were presented with the 2006 B.C. Community Achievement Awards today by the Honourable Iona V. Campagnolo, PC, CM, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia and the Honourable Gordon Campbell, Premier of British Columbia, on behalf of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation.

This is the third year of the awards, which recognize the efforts and achievements of extraordinary British Columbians in their communities.

Joining the Government House ceremony was Chief Councillor Bob Hill of Hartley Bay. On April 20, 2006, Hill accepted the Foundation’s first-ever B.C. Award for Achievement by a Community on behalf of the residents of Hartley Bay. The community was recognized for answering the distress call from a sinking ferry last month and helping transport passengers and crew to safety.

“People are doing amazing things every day across the province,” said Keith Mitchell, chair of the B.C. Achievement Foundation. “Through their selfless acts, the recipients of the Community Achievement Awards inspire us to make a difference in our own communities.”

The recipients were selected by an independent advisory council including Clint Hames, mayor of Chilliwack; Herb Pond, mayor of Prince Rupert; May Brown, member of the Order of British Columbia; and past Community Achievement Awards recipients Dot Andrews of Campbell River and Beryl Itani of Kelowna. Each recipient was presented with a medallion designed by BC artist Robert Davidson.