Celebrating the 20th Annual Community Award Presentation Ceremony at Government House: Recognizing Extraordinary Leadership in British Columbia 

Photo: Community Award recipients

On May 10th, Her Honour, The Honourable Janet Austin, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, delivered a heartfelt address to the 2023 recipients of the Community Award program and to the audience gathered to witness the ceremony.

In her remarks, she called attention to the exceptional leadership witnessed in recent years, both locally in BC and around the world, which aligns with the extraordinary times we live in. Her Honour emphasized that generous and responsible leadership takes various forms, and, in our province, we have firsthand experiences of the profound and transformative impact that each of the recipients can have on our communities. She spoke of the shared motivation among British Columbians to serve others, improve lives, strengthen community well-being, and expand opportunities for all. Her Honour highlighted the incredible strength we possess as a community, emphasizing that our ability to address the complex and interconnected challenges we face depends on each and every one of us, citizens who embrace shared responsibility for one another. In closing, she expressed her heartfelt belief that the recipients give her hope for a better world, truly acknowledging their significant contributions and inspiring leadership. 

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the BC Achievement Foundation and its cornerstone program – the Community Award, which highlights the outstanding achievements of remarkable individuals in BC. The program has showcased the stories of over 650 British Columbians who have blazed a path forward through their community achievements. Such achievements require strength, courage, and skill, serving as an inspiration for others to follow. Community Award recipients have played a vital role in building stronger and more engaged communities throughout BC for the past two decades. 

Each of the awardees has made unique contributions to their communities, whether through volunteering or their daily work—or often both. This year’s recipients surpass expectations in their dedication and service to others, devoting their time and energy to create more caring, dynamic, and distinctive communities. The models of practice they have established within their immediate communities are now expanding, being replicated, and flourishing, thanks to their exceptional leadership.

At BC Achievement, our mission is to elevate excellence and inspire achievement. We aim to recognize and celebrate the strength, courage, and skill of those who are making a difference in their communities, striving to make BC a better place for all. Their efforts ensure others follow their lead. 

To learn more about the awardees and their inspiring stories, please visit this link

We extend our heartfelt gratitude to the jury panel members who faced the challenging task of selecting the 2023 awardees: Mayor Sarrah Storey of Fraser Lake, Mayor Maja Tait of Sooke, and esteemed program alumni Kal Dosanjh of Surrey, Julie Fowler of Penticton, and Sqwulutsultun William (Bill) Yoachim of Nanaimo. 

BC Achievement: Elevate Excellence. Share Success. Inspire Change.

Join the Conversation, Share the News.