2022 Community Awardees Announced 

Photo: Baylie McKnight, 2022 Community Award recipient

The recipients of the 19th annual Community Award were just announced! The BC Achievement Community Award program recognizes extraordinary British Columbians who build better, stronger and more resilient communities. 

Representing communities and interests from around the province, the recipients are examples of dedication and service. Their contributions to their organizations, neighbourhoods, and communities are invaluable and life-changing.  

The 2022 Community Award recipients are:  

Carol Camille, Lillooet 
Jim Good, Prince George  
David He, Burnaby
Herman Ho, MB, AdeC, Vancouver 
Dr. Faisal Khosa, Vancouver  
Chin uook Kim, New Westminster 
Suresh Kurl, Richmond  
David Amrik Lau, Saanichton 
Lawrie Mack, Invermere
Baylie McKnight, Victoria 
Anders I. Ourom, Vancouver
Carmen Rosen, Vancouver 
Kamal Sharma, Surrey  
Robert Tanaka, Coquitlam  
Dr. Tracey Thorne, Gabriola Island 
Charissa Tonnesen, Tumbler Ridge
Dr. Vivian W. L. Tsang, Vancouver 
Wayne White, Courtenay
Sqwulutsultun William Yoachim, Nanaimo  
Anthony and Nancy Yurkovich, Richmond 

The recipients were selected by an independent committee, whose 2022 members include Mayor Maja Tait of Sooke, Mayor Clara Reinhardt of Radium Hot Springs, and past recipients Aisha Amijee and Kal Dosanjh.  

“The past two years have been challenging for all of us. It’s heartening to see these community leaders, visionaries, innovators and volunteers continuing to work to make the world a better place while lighting a path of achievement for other British Columbians to follow.” Anne Giardini, OC, OBC, QC, Chair of the BC Achievement Foundation. 

The Mitchell Award designate of the Community Award is selected by the BC Achievement Foundation Board in consultation with the local community. The award recognizes an individual who, through their work and volunteer activities, demonstrates an unwavering commitment to elevating people around them. This year’s Mitchell Award of Distinction recipient is Dr. Faisal Khosa, a mentor, educator and advocate for equity, diversity and inclusion, whose selfless leadership style empowers others to lead and excel.  

“This year’s Community Award recipients have supported their communities during exceptionally difficult times and are an inspiration to us all,” says Premier John Horgan. “They have dedicated their time and energy to helping their friends and neighbours, and British Columbia is a better province because of them.” 

The 2022 Community Award recipients will be recognized in a formal presentation ceremony held in Victoria, BC, this month in the presence of the Honourable Janet Austin, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia. Each awardee will receive a certificate and medallion designed by BC artist Robert Davidson, OC. They will also be celebrated through an online campaign #shinethelightbc to commemorate their excellence and inspirational achievements positively impacting British Columbians.  

You can read about each of these awardees and their accomplishments at bcachievement.com 

BC Achievement: Elevate Excellence. Share Success. Inspire Change.  

Join the Conversation, Share the News.