Longlist Announced for BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, One of Canada's Largest Book Prizes

The jury for the tenth annual BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, one of Canada’s largest literary non-fiction prizes, has decided on its longlist for 2014.

One hundred and forty-one books were nominated for the $40,000 prize by 46 publishers from across the country. From that entry, the prize jury has selected the following longlist of ten books.

Warning: file(dat/longlistbooks.dat) [function.file]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/0/7/3/1795/1795/public_html/nonfiction/longlist.php on line 49

The Juggler’s Children: A Journey into Family, Legend and the Genes that Bind UsCarolyn AbrahamRandom House of Canada
Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal LifeJames DaschukUniversity of Regina Press
Black Code: Inside the Battle for CyberspaceRonald J. DeibertMcClelland & Stewart
The Book of Immortality: The Science, Belief, and Magic Behind Living ForeverAdam Leith GollnerDoubleday Canada
The Massey Murder: A Maid, Her Master, and the Trial that Shocked a CountryCharlotte GrayHarperCollins Canada
Nocturne: On the Life and Death of My BrotherHelen HumphreysHarperCollins Canada
The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North AmericaThomas KingDoubleday Canada
The Once and Future World: Nature As It Was, As It Is, As It Could BeJ.B. MacKinnonRandom House of Canada
The War That Ended Peace: The Road to 1914Margaret MacMillanPenguin Canada
The Dogs Are Eating Them Now: Our War in AfghanistanGraeme SmithKnopf Canada

The BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction will announce its shortlist December 12 and the award will be presented in Vancouver in early 2013.

The jury for the 2013 British Columbia Award for Canadian Non-Fiction comprises:

Jared Bland is currently the books editor at The Globe and Mail and previously was senior editor at House of Anansi.

Daphne Bramham is a a columnist for The Vancouver Sun and was a finalist for the 2008 BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction for The Secret Lives of Saints: Child Brides and Lost Boys in Canada's Polygamous Mormon Sect.

Anna Porter, OC, OOnt
Anna Porter is an award-winning novelist and non-fiction writer and has been one of Canada's most respected book publishers. Her most recent book is Ghosts of Europe: Journeys through Central Europe's Troubled Past and Uncertain Future.

"This longlist is an excellent testimony to the impressive quality of non-fiction writing in Canada,” said BC Achievement Foundation chair Keith Mitchell. “Its diversity is exciting, showing the breadth of topics and questions that are relevant to this time in history. Our heartfelt thanks to the jury panel."

Previous winners of the BC Award include:

• Modris Eksteins for Solar Dance: Genius, Forgery and the Crisis of Truth in the Modern Age (2013)
• Charlotte Gill for Eating Dirt (2012)
• John Vaillant for The Tiger (2011)
• Ian Brown for The Boy in the Moon (2010)
• Russell Wangersky for Burning Down the House (2009)
• Lorna Goodison for From Harvey River (2008)
• Noah Richler for This Is My Country, What's Yours? (2007)
• Rebecca Godfrey for Under the Bridge (2006)
• Patrick Lane for There Is a Season (2005)

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)
E. info@bcachievement.com
F. 604.261.1964

2014 Award Winner

Videos from the 2014 Presentation Ceremony

Photos from the 2014 Presentation Ceremony

2014 Award Finalists
Media Resources

2014 Jury Panel

2014 Longlist

BC's National Award for Non-Fiction information

Previous Award Winners