13th British Columbia's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction

The Award

The British Columbia National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction was launched in 2005 to honour Canada’s finest writers of non-fiction and to celebrate a genre that stimulates our national conversation and shares knowledge about the complex world in which we live.

The award is presented by the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, an independent foundation established and endowed by the Province of BC in 2003 to celebrate excellence and achievement in the arts, humanities, enterprise, and community service.

The Criteria

The award recognizes and honours fine Canadian writing in the field of non-fiction. The genre includes essays, memoirs, criticism, history, literary journalism, and biography, among other forms. Submissions should be fact-based and book-length, demonstrating a distinctive and persuasive command of style and technique in the telling of compelling stories, supported by research that provides the reader with a unique perspective. The finalists and winner will represent an important contribution to our national conversation.

The Prize

The winning author will receive $40,000 while the remaining finalists will each receive $5,000. The award will be presented at a special ceremony in Vancouver in early 2017.

The Jury

Assessments of entries are undertaken by an independent jury panel of experts in the field drawn from across Canada. The jury’s decisions regarding eligibility, interpretation of the guidelines, longlist, shortlist, and the winning author are final.

See Also
Nominated titles should be sent to:
British Columbia's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction
4276 Musqueam Drive
Vancouver, BC
V6N 3R7

British Columbia\
2016 Recipient, Rosemary Sullivan

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)
E. info@bcachievement.com
F. 778.379.0511

2017 Longlist

2017 Shortlist

2017 Jury Panel

BC's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction

Previous Award Winners