Finalists Named for BC's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction

The 2012 shortlist for the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction was announced by Keith Mitchell, chair of the BC Achievement Foundation. Founded in 2004, the BC Award is one of the largest non-fiction book prizes in the country.

“This award is British Columbia's opportunity to highlight the important contribution Canada's best non-fiction makes to our national conversation,” said Mitchell. “We thank the jury for its diligence in selecting this outstanding shortlist from the field of 134 books nominated for this year’s prize.”

The shortlist was chosen by jury members Paul Whitney, who retired from his position as City Librarian at Vancouver Public Library in 2010; Patricia Graham, the former editor-in-chief of The Vancouver Sun and current Vice President, Digital, for Pacific Newspaper Group; and award-winning author and editor Shari Graydon. The jury will announce the winner of the 2012 prize at a special presentation ceremony in Vancouver in February, 2012.

Please click on the book covers above to read the jury citations for each finalist.

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)

Previous Award Winners