Introducing The 2010 Finalists

The Winner will be announced Friday, January 15, 2010 at a special presentation ceremony in Vancouver

The 2010 shortlist for Canada's largest non-fiction prize, the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, was announced by Premier Gordon Campbell and Keith Mitchell, chair of the BC Achievement Foundation. In the running for the $40,000 prize are Ian Brown, Karen Connelly, Eric Siblin and Kenneth Whyte.

The shortlist was chosen by jury members Vicki Gabereau, award-winning television and radio interviewer; Philip Marchand, author, book columnist, and magazine writer, and Andreas Schroeder, author and Rogers Communications chair in UBC's Creative Writing Department.

"The list of nominees for this year's award demonstrates the diversity and talent of Canada's writers," said Premier Campbell, a director of the BC Achievement Foundation. "The shortlist embodies the versatility of Canadian non-fiction, spanning memoir, history, biography and reportage. These writers are making invaluable contributions to Canada's culture and to the strength of our knowledge economy."

The BC Award is the richest non-fiction book prize in the country and the non-fiction counterpart to the Giller Prize for fiction and the Griffin Poetry Prize.

Mitchell commented, "We thank the jury members for their thoughtful deliberations as they read the 149 submitted books, whittled the submissions to a list of 11 and now have chosen an excellent shortlist."

The winner of the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction will be announced Friday, Jan. 15, 2010 at a special presentation ceremony in Vancouver.

Please click on the book covers above to read the jury citations for each finalist.

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)
F. 604.261.1964

2015 Award Winner

Videos from the 2015 Presentation Ceremony

Photos from the 2015 Presentation Ceremony

2015 Award Finalists
Media Resources

2015 Jury Panel

2015 Longlist

BC's National Award for Non-Fiction information

Previous Award Winners