Introducing The 2009 Finalists

Award presentation: February 2, 2009

The 2009 shortlist for Canada's largest literary non-fiction prize, British Columbia's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, was announced on December 10. In the running for the $40,000 prize are Daphne Bramham, Mary Henley Rubio, Christopher Shulgan, and Russell Wangersky.

The shortlist was chosen by a distinguished jury comprising John Cruickshank, the jury chair and publisher of CBC News; Stevie Cameron, one of Canada's foremost investigative journalists; and Andreas Schroeder, CBC's Basic Black.

The BC Award celebrates the finest Canadian writers of literary non-fiction. It is the only national book prize to originate in BC, and the non-fiction counterpart to other major awards such as the Giller Prize for fiction and the Griffin Poetry Prize. The winner of the fifth annual award will be announced at a special ceremony in Vancouver on February 2, 2009.

Previous award recipients include Patrick Lane for There Is a Season (2005), Rebecca Godfrey for Under the Bridge (2006), Noah Richler for This Is My Country, What's Yours? (2007), and Lorna Goodison for From Harvey River (2008).

Please click on the book covers above to read the jury citations for each finalist.

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)

Previous Award Winners