Finalists Announced for 14th Annual BC National Non-Fiction Award

Finalists for the 2018 BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction - one of the largest non-fiction book prizes in the country - were announced today on behalf of the BC Achievement Foundation. The award carries a prize of $40,000 and each finalist will also receive a prize of $5,000.

An independent jury chose the four finalists from among 156 books submitted by 45 publishers from across Canada. The members of the 2018 jury are Jan Walter, Jury Chair, editor, publishing executive, bookseller and former Chair of the Kingston WritersFest Board; Rick Antonson, author, book publisher, lecturer and former CEO of Tourism Vancouver; and, Eliza Reid, co-founder of Iceland Writers' Retreat, writer, editor and currently the First Lady of Iceland.

Now in its 14th year, the award has featured such winners as Sandra Martin, Rosemary Sullivan, Karyn L. Freedman, Thomas King, Modris Eksteins, Charlotte Gill, John Vaillant, Ian Brown, Russell Wangersky, Lorna Goodison, Noah Richler, Rebecca Godfrey, and Patrick Lane.

"Writers are the essential lifeblood of our culture, and while they may labour in isolation, their words help us understand who we are, and our place in the world. This year's shortlist of four exceptional books of non -fiction, selected from 156 submissions, exemplifies everything our Award stands for," said Scott McIntyre, Foundation Chair. "We are very proud of our jury's final selections. And we are equally proud that the province of British Columbia continues to offer a national award of this stature."

The jury will announce the winner of the 2018 prize at a special presentation ceremony in Vancouver on February 1, 2018.

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)

Previous Award Winners