Award Guidelines and Submission Process

Award Guidelines
  1. Entries must be published between November 1, 2016 to October 31, 2017. If necessary, books may be submitted as bound galley proofs.
  2. Books must be first print editions published in Canada in English and be widely available to Canadian readers in bookstores and libraries.
  3. All entries must be authored by a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada at the time of publication.
  4. Entries may be authored by one or two individuals. Multi-authored titles are not eligible.
  5. Entries should demonstrate a high standard of craft and quality of thought, whatever their subject or category within the genre.
  6. Self-published books are not eligible. These are understood to include books authored by a senior officer of the book’s publishing firm, and/or whose publication was underwritten in part or whole by the author. Such books as textbooks, how-to books, and photographic books, are not eligible.
  7. Posthumously published books are not eligible.
  8. The jury may request submissions at its discretion.

  1. Complete the online submission form for each nominated title.
  2. All entries must be received by August 31, 2017.
    • Already published books should be submitted immediately
    • Books to be published between August 31, 2017–October 31, 2017 should be submitted as bound galley proofs, followed by print copies upon publication.
    • Four copies of each submitted title should be delivered to:
    • BC's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction
      4276 Musqueam Dr
      Vancouver, BC V6N 3R7
  3. Canadian publishers should submit their best examples of Canadian non-fiction in accordance with the criteria of the award as outlined.
  4. All entries must be submitted by an eligible publisher whose primary business is book publishing and one with an established national distribution.
  5. Publishers must submit four copies of each nominated title. Books will not be returned.

The publisher must complete a copy of the online submission form for each nominated title. By sending the submission form for a given title, the publisher acknowledges the following:
  1. Shortlisted authors will be available for publicity and promotion at the request of the BC Achievement Foundation.
  2. Each shortlisted author will attend:
    • The presentation ceremony in Vancouver in early 2018
    • A panel and reading by finalists held the day prior to the presentation ceremony
    • A dinner for the finalists to be held the evening prior to the presentation ceremony
  3. The publisher will ensure that nominated titles are submitted with the author’s permission.
  4. Publishers of shortlisted books will provide author biographies and other descriptive information, along with author and book jacket photos, for promotional purposes.
  5. The publisher will provide 15 copies of a shortlisted book to the BC Achievement Foundation within ten days of the shortlist announcement, followed by a further 25 copies as soon as possible.
  6. In the event that a title nominated by the publisher wins the award, the publisher agrees to acknowledge the prize in subsequent advertising and through other appropriate promotion.
  7. For each reprint of the hardcover and paperback edition of the winning title, there must be clear mention of the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction on the cover.
  8. International editions of each shortlisted title must mention that it is a finalist or winner of the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction.

Nominated titles should be sent to:
British Columbia's National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction
4276 Musqueam Drive
Vancouver, BC
V6N 3R7

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)

Previous Award Winners