Longlist Announced for BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, One of Canada's Largest Book Prizes

November 20, 2013

The jury for the tenth annual BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, one of Canada's largest literary non-fiction prizes, has decided on its longlist for 2014.

One hundred and forty-one books were nominated for the $40,000 prize by 46 publishers from across the country. From that entry, the prize jury has selected the following longlist of ten books.

The Juggler's Children: A Journey into Family, Legend and the Genes that Bind Us
Carolyn Abraham
Random House of Canada

Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal Life
James Daschuk
University of Regina Press

Black Code: Inside the Battle for Cyberspace
Ronald J. Deibert
McClelland & Stewart

The Book of Immortality: The Science, Belief, and Magic Behind Living Forever
Adam Leith Gollner
Doubleday Canada

The Massey Murder: A Maid, Her Master, and the Trial that Shocked a Country
Charlotte Gray
HarperCollins Canada

Nocturne: On the Life and Death of My Brother
Helen Humphreys
HarperCollins Canada

The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America
Thomas King
Doubleday Canada

The Once and Future World: Nature As It Was, As It Is, As It Could Be
J.B. MacKinnon
Random House of Canada

The War That Ended Peace: The Road to 1914
Margaret MacMillan
Penguin Canada

The Dogs Are Eating Them Now: Our War in Afghanistan
Graeme Smith
Knopf Canada

The BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction will announce its shortlist December 11 and the award will be presented in Vancouver in early 2013.

The jury for the 2013 British Columbia Award for Canadian Non-Fiction comprises:

Jared Bland is currently the books editor at The Globe and Mail and previously was senior editor at House of Anansi.

Daphne Bramham is a a columnist for The Vancouver Sun and was a finalist for the 2008 BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction for The Secret Lives of Saints: Child Brides and Lost Boys in Canada's Polygamous Mormon Sect.

Anna Porter, OC, OOnt
Anna Porter is an award-winning novelist and non-fiction writer and has been one of Canada's most respected book publishers. Her most recent book is Ghosts of Europe: Journeys through Central Europe's Troubled Past and Uncertain Future.

"This longlist is an excellent testimony to the impressive quality of non-fiction writing in Canada, said BC Achievement Foundation chair Keith Mitchell. "Its diversity is exciting, showing the breadth of topics and questions that are relevant to this time in history. Our heartfelt thanks to the jury panel."

Previous winners of the BC Award include:

• Modris Eksteins for Solar Dance: Genius, Forgery and the Crisis of Truth in the Modern Age (2013)
• Charlotte Gill for Eating Dirt (2012)
• John Vaillant for The Tiger (2011)
• Ian Brown for The Boy in the Moon (2010)
• Russell Wangersky for Burning Down the House (2009)
• Lorna Goodison for From Harvey River (2008)
• Noah Richler for This Is My Country, What's Yours? (2007)
• Rebecca Godfrey for Under the Bridge (2006)
• Patrick Lane for There Is a Season (2005)

The BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction is presented by the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, an independent foundation established and endowed by the Province of British Columbia in 2003 to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. This is the ninth year in which the award will be presented.

For more information on the British Columbia National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction and on submission guidelines, please visit www.bcachievement.com


Contact: Nora Newlands
British Columbia Achievement Foundation

Back to Foundation News

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)
E. info@bcachievement.com