2016 BC Aboriginal Business Awards Presented

Aboriginal Businesses recognized at gala dinner

The eighth annual BC Aboriginal Business award recipients were celebrated at a gala dinner ceremony on October 19, 2016 honouring excellence in Aboriginal business. The Honourable John Rustad, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, presented the awards.

National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, Perry Bellegarde, brought greetings to the gathering of over 600 at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and commended the awardees’ business achievements. The 2016 Individual Achievement Award was presented to Robert Louie of Westbank First Nation.

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards were launched in 2008 to honour and celebrate business excellence. A total of 15 Aboriginal businesses, entrepreneurs, partnership entities and community-owned enterprises will be recognized at this year’s gala dinner.

Members of the 2016 jury panel include Michelle Corfield, Glen Ohs and Judith Sayers.

Young Entrepreneur of the Year
Defy Hair and Esthetics

Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Alpha-Omega Productions, Kamloops

  • Business of the Year - one to two person enterprise
    Big Bear Services Wildlife Monitoring
    Moberly Lake

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • 4TR Ventures Ltd., Barriere

  • Business of the Year - three to 10 person enterprise
    Callison & Hanna Law

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Tim Tom Construction, Dawson Creek

  • Business of the Year - 10 or more person enterprise
    Getumdone Contracting Ltd.

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Tla'amin Convenience Store, Powell River

  • Community-Owned Business of the Year - one entity
    Tk'emlups Petro Canada/Carwash

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Gitxsan Safety Services Inc., Hazelton
  • Rupert Lawn & Garden, Prince Rupert

  • Community-Owned Business of the Year - two or more entities
    Seyem' Qwantlen Business Group
    Fort Langley

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Penticton Indian Band Development Corporation, Penticton

  • Aboriginal - Industry Business Partnership of the Year
    Tsi Del Del Enterprises Ltd.
    Chilanko Forks

    Aboriginal - Aboriginal Business Partnership of the Year
    Northern Native Broadcasting (CFNR)

    Individual Achievement Award
    Robert Louie

    BC Indigenous Business Awards sponsors
    British Columbia Achievement Foundation
    T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)
    E. info@bcachievement.com
    F. 778.379.0511


    Previous Awardees

    BC Indigenous Business Awards

    • 2018 Awardees Announcement
    • 2018 Awardees
      • Skywest Environmental Inc.
      • Ay Lelum-The Good House of Design
      • Reciprocal Consulting
      • Mussell Crane Manufacturing
      • Yucwmenlúcwu (Caretakers of the Land) LLP
      • Kanaka Bar Land and Resource LP
      • Nuu-chah-nulth Seafood Limited Partnership
      • Chief Gordon Planes - Hya-Quatcha

    • 2018 Outstanding Business Achievers
      • Van - Isle Auto Brokers
      • Second Pass Forestry Ltd.
      • Haida Style Expeditions
      • Kootenay Waste Services Ltd.
      • Kikinaw Energy Services Ltd.
      • Painted Rock Aggregates & Contracting LLP
      • Quilakwa Investments
      • Cariboo Aboriginal Forestry Enterprises Ltd.

    • Photos from the 2018 Gala Dinner
    • Videos from the 2018 Gala Dinner