2011 BC Aboriginal Business Awards

The third annual British Columbia Aboriginal Business Awards were announced by the Hon. Mary Polak, Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation and Keith Mitchell, chair of the BC Achievement Foundation. The honourees were celebrated at a gala ceremony on December 1, 2011 at the Hyatt Regency in Vancouver.

"I'd like to thank the jury for their dedicated work in choosing such worthy recipients of this year's awards," said Polak. "Aboriginal business plays a vital role in generating on-the-ground jobs within communities across the province. I know that the people we honour this year will inspire budding entrepreneurs to follow their own dreams and build on the contribution of Aboriginal business to the B.C. economy."

"From trades, construction and development to retail, lodging, restaurants and catering, the BC Aboriginal Business Awards showcase the Aboriginal business community and its accomplishments," added Mitchell. "On behalf of the BC Achievement Foundation, I would like to extend my congratulations to these deserving enterprises.

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards were launched in 2008 to honour and celebrate business excellence. Seven award recipients, one from each category, have been selected. In addition, a further group of eleven Aboriginal businesses are noted for their outstanding achievement.

Members of the jury panel include Chief Harold Leighton of Metlakatla First Nation in Prince Rupert and CEO of Metlakatla Development Corporation, a past recipient; Tim Low, entrepreneur, former economic development officer and currently director of Citizen Services, Service Canada in Vancouver; and Janice Rose, Vice-Chair, Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada and Principal Consultant of JM Rose & Associates in Ladysmith. The jury panel evaluated submissions based on the entrants' viability, sustainability and competitiveness.

The BC Aboriginal Business Awards are presented by the BC Achievement Foundation in partnership with the Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation, and generously supported by New Relationship Trust, BC Hydro, Teck, Encana and Spectra Energy.

The 2011 Aboriginal Business Award Recipients:

Young Entrepreneur of the Year
Lara Yanik
The Pilates Connection

Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Erica Ryan-Gagné, Haida Gwaii

  • Brady Erixon
    Sportsman Light Truck Ltd.

    Business of the Year - one to two person enterprise
    Knotty By Nature

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Cedar Root Gallery, Vancouver
  • Halfyard Designs, Richmond

  • Business of the Year - three to 10 person enterprise
    Three Rivers Contracting
    Glen Vowell

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Bravo Restaurant & Lounge, Chilliwack
  • Salishan Catering, Vancouver

  • Business of the Year - 10 or more person enterprise
    CSC Electric Ltd.

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • EM Salon & Spa, Port Alberni
  • Himwitsa Enterprises, Tofino

  • Community-Owned Business of the Year
    Tseshaht Market
    Port Alberni

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Duz Cho Construction Ltd., Chetwynd
  • Quaaout Lodge & Talking Rock Golf Course, Chase

  • Joint Venture Business of the Year
    Takaya Developments Ltd

    Outstanding Business Achievement
  • Black Diamond Dene LP, Fort Nelson
  • TFN Construction⁄Matcon Civil Joint Venture, Tsawwassen

  • Individual Achievement Award
    Chief Clarence Louie

    BC Indigenous Business Award sponsors
    British Columbia Achievement Foundation
    T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)
    E. info@bcachievement.com


    Previous Awardees

    BC Indigenous Business Award

    • 2019 Awardees Announcement
    • 2019 Awardees
      • Mr. Bannock Indigenous Cuisine
      • Imagination FX
      • T’ashii Paddle School
      • Animikii Indigenous Technology
      • Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Course
      • Simpcw Resources Group of Companies
      • Salish Seaside RV Haven
      • Paulette Flamond

    • 2019 Outstanding Business Achievers
      • Persistence Training Centre
      • Tseax Development Group Ltd.
      • Nechako Valley Animal Health
      • Rivermist Excavating Ltd.
      • Top Notch Oilfield Contracting Ltd.
      • Mustimuhw Information Solutions Inc
      • Coast Salish Group
      • Lower Nicola Site Services

    • Videos from the IBA 2019 Gala Dinner
    • Videos from the 2019 Gala Dinner