British Columbia Creative Achievement Award of Distinction

Niels Bendtsen
2006 Recipient

Originally from Denmark, Bendtsen is a renowned furniture designer and manufacturer whose 'Ribbon' chair was added to the permanent collection at the Museum of Modern Art in New York in 1974. Focusing on simple, high quality designs, Bendtsen's furniture combines expression and function with outstanding results. Bendtsen's work is celebrated in Canada and overseas and was commemorated on a Canadian stamp.

Martha Sturdy
2006 Recipient

Known for her love of large-scale and dramatic pieces, Sturdy was inducted into the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts in 2005, and in 2001 was named by Metropolitan Home magazine as one of the top 20 designers to watch for in the next decade. A leading designer of furniture, home accessories and sculpture, Vancouver-born Sturdy recently received an Honorary Doctorate of Letters at Emily Carr Institute of Art + Design + Media.

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)

2019 Award

2018 Award

2017 Award

2016 Award

2015 Award

2014 Award

2013 Award

2012 Award

2011 Award

2010 Award

2009 Award

2008 Award

2007 Award

2006 Award