2012 BC Community Achievers Honoured

2012 recipients group photo
TOP ROW left to right
Dr. Roger Barnsley of Kamloops; Larry Jorgenson of Bella Bella; Al Etmanski and Vickie Cammack of Surrey; Wolfgang Zimmermann of Port Alberni; Jerome Bouvier of Coquitlam; Lori Slater of Fort St. John; Brad Skeats of Vancouver; Glen Saunders of Prince Rupert; Virginia Russell of Prince George
THIRD ROW left to right
Anne Hebert of Trail; Donna Spencer of Vancouver, Dr. Ewa Czaykowska-Higgins of Victoria; Romi Chandra Herbert of Vancouver; David Kim of Nanaimo; Debra Hewson of West Vancouver; Wes Sissons of Quesnel; Werner Heine of 100 Mile House; Steve Wilson of West Vancouver; Alan Markwart of Victoria; Michael Chiu of Richmond
SECOND ROW left to right
Mary McGhee of Harrison Mills; Lorna Gibbs of Vancouver; Russell Cmolik of Surrey; Joseph Martin of Tofino; Dr. Andrew Eisen of Vancouver; Ron Antalek of Maple Ridge; Leonard Schein of Vancouver; Sergio Cocchia of West Vancouver; Kelly Klein of North Vancouver; Joyce Fraser of Princeto
FRONT ROW left to right
Ron Lou-Poy, Board Member, BC Achievement Foundation; Catherine Belleau of Alkali Lake, Ellen Cmolik of Surrey; Kevin Bent of Postmedia Network Inc., Award Sponsor and Board Member, BC Achievement Foundation; The Honourable Ida Chong, Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development and Board Member, BC Achievement Foundation; The Honourable Steven L. Point, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia; Wendy Lisogar-Cocchia of West Vancouver; Keith Mitchell, Chair, BC Achievement Foundation; Nora Newlands, Executive Director, BC Achievement Foundation; Daphne Solecki of Vancouver; Ambo Dhaliwal of Kamloops

Thirty-six British Columbians were honoured today at the ninth annual BC Community Achievement Awards ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

Lieutenant Governor Steven Point and Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development Ida Chong presented each recipient with a BC Community Achievement Award medallion and certificate.

"Strong communities start with people like those we are honouring here today - individuals who demonstrate excellence by going above and beyond to change the lives of others and make BC a better place for families," said Minister Chong. "These individuals exemplify inspired leadership and stand as an example to others of what it means to be passionate, dedicated and community-oriented. It is an honour for me to recognize their achievements."

"Today's honourees give the most valuable of life's commodities, time and energy," said Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation. "All have demonstrated a commitment to making a real difference in so many areas from education to sport to youth and seniors leadership."

The following individuals received BC Community Achievement Awards:

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. This year's council members are Mayor Larry Cross of Sidney, Mayor Mary Sjostrom of Quesnel, and past recipients Jane Frost of Vancouver (2006), Marlene Grinnell of Langley (2006), and Patrick Kelly of Victoria (2009).

The British Columbia Community Achievement Awards are generously sponsored by Postmedia Network, whose presence in BC includes daily newspapers, The Vancouver Sun, The Province, and The National Post.

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)
E. info@bcachievement.com