2010 BC Community Achievers Honoured

2010 recipients group photo
UPPER LEFT left to right
Donna Stewart of North Vancouver; Marjorie Groberman of Vancouver; Bert Kelly of Prince George;
UPPER RIGHT left to right
Richard Murakami of Salt Spring Island; Gurdeep Sundher of Victoria; Donna May Thompson of Okanagan Falls
TOP ROW left to right
Kris Olsen of Queen Charlotte; Jeff Clark of New Westminster; Miles Ritchie of Surrey
FOURTH ROW left to right
Trevor Day of Kelowna; Paul Mitchell of Kelowna; Jagat Uppal of Vancouver; Larry McHale of Squamish; Audrey MacLise of Williams Lake; Charan Gill of Surrey; Jeannette Townsend of Valemount; Alan Chell of Revelstoke; Edgar Dunning of Delta; Melinda Cheung of Fort St. James; Alan Boyd of Lone Butte; George Hungerford of Vancouver
THIRD ROW left to right
Ron Hadley of Qualicum Beach; Corinne James of Qualicum Beach; Yuri Fulmer of West Vancouver; Jane Dickson of Terrace; Jack Collins of Qualicum Beach; Muriel McKay-Ross of Nanaimo; Gary Brown of Nanoose Bay; Braunwyn Henwood of New Hazelton; Mary Anne Eli of Westbank; Pat Ronalds of Cranbrook; Virginia Greene of Vancouver; Joyce Lam of Vancouver; Cecilia Benoit of Victoria; Jane Hungerford of Vancouver
SECOND ROW left to right
Dave Lede of Vancouver; Kayli Johnson of Vancouver; Yasmin John-Thorpe of Penticton; Amanda Neil of Delta; Barbara Maher of Chase; Joan Richoz of Whistler; Robert Lynn Shervill of Smithers; Wilma Wickham of Ladysmith; Jeff Vaughan of Surrey
FRONT ROW left to right
Lt.-Col. Wayne Dauphinee (Ret'd), CD, AdeC; Eileen Scott of Bamfield; Suneet Maan of Surrey; Sarina Mawji of Coquitlam; Premier Gordon Campbell; His Honour; Lucinda Chodan of Canwest Publishing; Keith Mitchell, Chair of BC Achievement Foundation; Lt.-Col. Philip Sherwin, CD, AdeC

Forty-seven British Columbians representing 32 communities throughout the province were honoured at the seventh annual BC Community Achievement Awards ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

Lieutenant Governor Steven Point and Premier Gordon Campbell presented each recipient with a medallion on behalf of the BC Achievement Foundation.

"These forty-seven individuals exemplify the characteristics and accomplishments of British Columbians who have helped shape our province," said Premier Campbell. "They are citizens from all over the province whose contributions, leadership and inspiration have helped make British Columbia one of the best places to live in the world."

"They are dedicated individuals who share the most valuable of today's commodities; time and compassion. What they all have in common is a passion for the people and places where they live and a strong commitment to making a difference," said Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation.

The recipients of the 2010 awards are:

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. The 2010 advisory council members are Mayor Scott Manjak, City of Cranbrook; Mayor Frank Leonard, City of Saanich; George Puil of Vancouver (2008 recipient); Kim Capri of Vancouver and Tung Chan of Vancouver.

The recipients of the 2010 British Columbia Community Achievement Awards were recognized in a formal presentation at Government House in Victoria on April 28, 2010. Each individual received a certificate and a medallion designed by B.C. artist Robert Davidson.

The British Columbia Community Achievement Awards are generously sponsored by Canwest, Canada’s leading international media company, whose presence in B.C. includes daily and community newspapers, online media and television stations.

British Columbia Achievement Foundation
T. 604.261.9777 | Toll Free 866.882.6088 (in BC)
E. info@bcachievement.com